Writer, zoologist and gundog enthusiast, Pippa blogs on life in the countryside

Its a strange business this blogging lark!

Less than three months ago,  I barely knew what a blog was.    Now it feels as though blogging and I are ‘old friends’.     I have learned  so much,  in the last few weeks not least of which is the discovery that I have a great deal more to learn!  

The next step in my ‘blogging journey’ is make a searchable, organised home for my  ‘gundog’  material.  I have just the place planned out.   It is a website called Totally Gundogs.  It will be a ‘how to’  blog with gundog news, training tips,  health advice,  and general information about getting into gundog work and becoming a part of the somewhat cliquey gundog community in the UK.   I hope also to look at gundog work in other parts of the world.

I’ve been having a lot of fun writing some new material (and updating some of the old).  There is a lot more work to do yet but the site is now open, so I hope you will drop in and check it out.

I could not have made any of these blogs without the help and information provided by other more experienced bloggers.   If you are a beginning blogger like me,  you might be interested in some of the excellent resources I have discovered on my blogging travels in the last few weeks.  

One of my favourites is a blog by writer Jeff Goins   but for the technicalities of how, where, and when to blog,  Problogger,  by Darren Rowse,  Copyblogger and Tentblogger by John Saddington, are hard to beat.   Without the mountain of practical information freely available from three guys I would not have lasted the first month.

I have also,  along the way, discovered Google Reader,  which enables me to keep up with other blogs in my niche and which offer support to new bloggers.    I am such a dinosaur that I didn’t even know what RSS was until a few weeks ago.

This blog will remain focused on my country pursuits including our pheasant shoot, my wildlife filming and with a few personal snippets thrown in for my family and friends.

I hope you will bear with me as I make a zillion more mistakes,  and thanks very much for dropping by!

One Comment on “Its a strange business this blogging lark!”

  1. Dave says:

    With people who have natural inclination to write, it’s hard to imagine the Internet only has been around for two decades, let alone the ease of access to blogging only arose about five years ago.

    I have been writing on forums since 1999, kept a personal blog since 2008, but I never really found my passion until this year. Yet it seems like I have been writing about thease topics forever– and I have, but not in the format I am now accustomed to.


Leave a Reply

